Charles S. Roberts Awards Return After 8 Year Hiatus

The Charles S. Roberts Awards, given for excellence in the conflict simulation game industry, have put out a call for submissions for war games and related material published in 2019. The awards have been in existence since 1975, but this is the first given since 2012.

The non-profit committee is directed by Tim Tow. The Board of Governors include Rodger B MacGowan, Riccardo Rigillo, John Burtt, Mark D’Agosta, Jean-Louis Dirion, Lawrence Hung, Derek Landel, Andy Loakes, Allan Rothberg and Wojciech Zalewski.

The award is named after the founder of Avalon Hill, Charles S. Roberts. Roberts published the first commercial war games.

Charles S. Roberts

All ballots must be submitted by June 15. Submissions are being taking on the award’s website.

Categories include

Best Ancients to Pre-Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
Best Napoleonic Era Board Wargame
Best Post-Napoleonic to Pre-World War 2 Era Board Wargame
Best World War 2 Era Board Wargame
Best Post-WW2, Cold War, & Hypothetical Era Board Wargame
Best Board Wargame Computer Assist Module
Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Board Wargame
Best Pre-20th Century Era Computer Wargame
Best Modern Era Computer Wargame
Best Science-Fiction or Fantasy Computer Wargame
Best Computer Wargame Expansion or Update
Best Computer Game Graphics
Best Solitaire/Cooperative Board Wargame
Best Magazine Board Wargame
Best Amateur / Print-and-Play Board Wargame (Not available for commercial sale and not announced for publication or crowdfunding)
Best Postcard/Small format Board Wargame (Up to 100 playing pieces and map not to exceed 6 1/8″ (15.56cm) x 11 1/2″ (29.21cm) )
Best Expansion or Supplement for an Existing Board Wargame
Best Board Wargame Playing Components
Best Board Wargame Map Graphics
Best Board Wargame Rules
Best Original Box Cover Art
Best Professional Wargame Magazine
Best Amateur Game Magazine
Best Historical or Scenario Article (Provide Link to Article or Podcast)
Best Game Review or Analysis (Provide link to Article or Podcast)
Best Board Wargame of the Year
James F. Dunnigan Design Elegance Award (person or game)
Clausewitz Award HALL OF FAME (person)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button